Sunday, December 13, 2009

National College Football Awards & Heisman Trophy

Every year, the National College Football Awards Association and a number of other sponsoring organizations give out a series of awards for the year's best college football players. This list is well beyond event he most die hard fans. This year's winners are as follows...

- Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player) - Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
- Biletnikoff Award (best receiver) - Golden Tate, Notre Dame
- Lou Groza Award (best kicker) - Kai Forbath, UCLA
- Ray Guy Award (best punter) - Drew Butler, Georgia
- Maxwell Award (best all-around player) - Colt McCoy, Texas
- Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback) - Colt McCoy, Texas
- Outland Trophy (best interior lineman) - Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
- Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back) - Eric Berry, Tennessee
- Doak Walker Award (best running back) - Toby Gerhart, Stanford
- Rimington Trophy (outstanding center) - Maurkice Pouncey, Florida
- John Mackey Award (best tight end) - Aaron Hernandez, Florida
- Bronko Nagurski Trophy (outstanding defensive player) - Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
- Rotary Lombardi Award (outstanding lineman) - Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
- Frank Broyles Award (top assistant coach) - Kirby Smart, Alabama
- Butkus Award (top linebacker) - Rolando McClain, Alabama
- Walter Camp Award (player of the year) - Colt McCoy, Texas
- Disney Spirit Award (most inspirational player) - Mark Herzlich - Boston College
- Campbell Trophy (Draddy Trophy) (player with the best combination of academics, community service, and on-field performance) - Tim Tebow, Florida
- Heisman Trophy - Mark Ingram, Alabama
- Lombardi Award (best lineman or linebacker) - Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska

The media tends to focus on the Heisman Trophy. While it is nice, it is more of an offensive glamor shot. A player on a poor team has no shot. A player from a non-BCS school has almost no shot. A defensive player has no shot. An offensive lineman has no shot.

These awards are necessary so the media outlets have something to talk about. And the players deserve the accolades, but there is usually little difference between the winners and the non-winners.

Not to take anything away from this year's Heisman winner, Mark Ingram, but Ndamukong Suh, defensive end from Nebraska, was clearly the best all-around, most dominating player in the country. Problem is that many of the voters never saw him play, and Nebraska was 9-4 and not in a BCS game. Toby Gerhard, RB from Stanford, was the best skill offensive player in the country, but he played on Stanford, an 8-4 team and not in a BCS game.

The Heisman Memorial Trophy annually recognizes the outstanding college football player whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity. But like many things, they evolve to suite the purposes of their supporters. I no longer watch the Award ceremony like I use to.

Realize also these awards are for college football. They have nothing to do with how they will do at the next level. Too often, they are over hyped and don't make it in the NFL (just look at the list of winners).

These awards are what they are: the voters for the awards' best guess at the best player for that designation given the voting guidelines. Someone's got to win; someone's not going to win. This gives us fans something to talk about, as worthless as that time is.

No comments: