Thursday, August 21, 2008

Russians To Recognize Breakaway Republics

Russia has a whole bunch of autonomous oblasts: Altai, Bashkortostan, Buryatia, Chechnya, Chuvashia, Dagestan, Ingushetia, Kabardino-Balkaria, Kalmykia, Karachay-Cherkessia, Karelia, Khakassia, Komi, Mari El, Mordovia, North Ossetia-Alania, Sakha, Tatarstan, Tuva and Udmurtia. Likewise, a few autonomous okrugs: Chukotka, Khantia-Mansia, Nenetsia and Yamalia.

We know what they recently did to the Chechens and the Ingushetians when they wanted their independence. Ten of thousands paid with their lives.

So now when Russia threatens to recognize the breakaway Georgian republics of pro-Russian South Ossetia and Abkhazia, that's okay.

Is it nothing more than "get back" against the West for recognizing the Balkan republics of Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro and Kosovo after the break up of communist Yugoslavia?

Russia is fine with those people outside of their country that kowtow to them. These entities will now become subservient to the Moscow. That may work for a while but South Ossetia and Abkhazia are more likely to regret it in a few years.

No comments: