Sunday, March 16, 2008

Senate Earmark Moratorium Down in Flames

On Thursday evening 3/13/08), the Senate voted to establish an earmark moratorium for fiscal years 2009. By a margin of 71-29, the vote failed. Shocked?

Of the 71 pork-loving Senators, 26 of them were Republicans...including the two Senators from Utah, my fair state. I have written both asking them why they are immune from earmarking funds for self-centered purposes. Like always, I will get a form letter response but without any real answer.

Here's their names and their "pork totals" for this past year, according to Taxpayers for Common Sense. You can see the actual Excel spreadsheet for the entire House and Senate <here>.

Bennett (R-UT) $296.1 million
Bond (R-MO) $529.9 million
Brownback (R-KS) $365.6 million
Bunning (R-KY) $23.7 million
Cochran (R-MS) $977.7 million
Coleman (R-MN) $231.9 million
Collins (R-ME) $137.8 million
Craig (R-ID) $150.2 million
Crapo (R-ID) $150.5 million
Domenici (R-NM) $600.0 million
Gregg (R-NH) $93.9 million
Hagel (R-NE) $102.0 million
Hatch (R-UT) $241.7 million
Hutchison (R-TX) $839.2 million
Lugar (R-IN) $146.4 million
Murkowski (R-AK) $63.8 million
Roberts (R-KS) $333.0 million
Shelby (R-AL) $635.1 million
Smith (R-OR) $273.0 million
Snowe (R-ME) $126.5 million
Specter (R-PA) $404.4 million
Stevens (R-AK) $524.5 million
Vitter (R-LA) $386.8 million
Voinovich (R-OH) $170.6 million
Warner (R-VA) $702.2 million
Wicker (R-MS) (totals unavailable)

No comments: